Smule sounds really flat on a brand new ipad.

ac3

I have been using smule for a couple years now, but always within android environment, i like to use an at2035 mic with an irig pre for smule, sometimes i just use a headset and called it a day.

Well i stopped using smule for over 1 year, and i bought a new ipad in january, and oh my god i couldnt believe how good it sounded while singing, the features of rewind were awsome, except, the post processing is absolute garbage, the best i can explain is, no matter what filter i use, how much gain i put, smule in ipad sounds absolutly crisp while i am singing and listening to myself, as soon as i finish recording, and get the preview, it sounds muffled, sounds flat, like smule grabbed all my highs and lows, removed them all and flattened the full song, initially i thought it was an issue with my singing, or my setup it really is not, i tried apple earbuds, same issue, i tried artic pro headset same issue, but then i tried ipad recording app without smule, and it sounds absolutly great on ipad all 3 options sound great on ipad, you go on smule and bang, a muffled soup of singing, it doesnt sound "bad" it just sounds absolutly flat is there any way around this, or has anyone had this issue?

opentype

Not sure what is going on. But I can say that there shouldn’t be any difference between the monitoring while singing and the playback on the review screen. 

Do you have an example song with that problem?

ac3

Sure thing,

So this, is how my at2035 is sounding on a new model ipad from january : https://www.smule.com/recording/yakuza-ryu-ga-gotoku-baka-mitai-short-ver/2598572585_4236021929/ensembles

And this is the same mic using a crappy android emulator trough blue stacks using same microphone :

https://www.smule.com/recording/yakuza-ryu-ga-gotoku-baka-mitai-short-ver/2034743655_4241879557/ensembles