Set up required for crisp & clear sound recording on Smule

Anshuman

I am not bad at singing but I need advice on hardware set up . While searching for it on internet I came across that lot of people use iphone with apple earphone and so I too bought one recently (iphone 12 with apple earphone). I have found recording of other people on the platform very sharp, crisp with clarity and well echoed. But recorded sound of my performance is definitely not crisp and is too husky with more bass & without clarity) despite whatever settings I opt for reverb & room size. 

I sing connecting the earphone directly with my phone through lightening connector. I do admit that I am a novice and certainly missing on something. It would be helpful if somebody could advise me the exact set up required for crisp & clear recording.  

Edited by Anshuman
  • like 1

opentype

How do you position the microphone? That will have a big impact. Other than that, there aren’t any settings for headphones directly plugged in. So I don’t think the people whose sound you like do anything special when they use Apple EarBuds. 

• like 1

Anshuman

Thanks for your response. I use mic on the apple earbuds just as the other performers seem to do and I keep the mic positioned sideways to my mouth about 2.5 to 3 inches away while singing. I feel that my recorded sound should have more treble for clarity. However the quality is not upto the mark and seems to me like a straight wire having burs around(sigh). I would request you to please listen to the first recording on my channel  Er_av_musical and which has been joined(tried) with somebody whose voice I do appreciate for clarity(of course she is one of the best on the smule platform) and help me with your assessment as to what do you think of my voice recording, when you do compare both the voices. though the song is in Hindi(Indian language) however since this is regarding sound quality, which I suppose would not pose any problem.