Recommended earphones/headphones to be used with irig pre hd

Go to solution Solved by opentype,

elyssia

So I have gone to get myself an irig pre hd and a Shure Beta 58A mic. However, I can't plug in my usual Apple earphones to listen to myself while singing as the earphones do not have the suitable plug-in jack. I tried to use another pair of earphones with a mic attached and it seems that it recorded my voice through that mic instead of through the Shure mic. Any suggestion on how to work around this problem?

elyssia
4 minutes ago, opentype said:

I would suggest the Apple Earbuds. They sound great and they are cheap:
https://www.apple.com/shop/product/MNHF2AM/A/earpods-with-35-mm-headphone-plug

The microphone shouldn’t matter. The headphone output on the iRig interface is really just a headphone output. 

Thank you for the fast reply! I like the apple earbuds too ... in fact I have been using one to sing for the past 6 years.

So even if I connect the earbud, the mic attached won't capture my voice? Whatever is recorded will be from the Shure mic connected to the irig?

opentype
5 hours ago, elyssia said:

So even if I connect the earbud, the mic attached won't capture my voice? Whatever is recorded will be from the Shure mic connected to the irig?

Yes.

Of course you need to make sure that Smule detects the right microphone. If if doesn’t, it will switch to the phone’s internal microphone. The usual test is to tap on the microphones with your finger. You can do that with your Shure, the headphone microphone and even the phone itself. Only the “hot” microphone will transmit the tapping loudly. 

elyssia
9 hours ago, opentype said:

Yes.