a couple of newbie questions

BrainDad

Hi, I'm quite new to this and I've got some newbie questions:

I've seen some song comments which say things like "I used SS35/40" (well, I don't remember the exact numbers ...) 
What's that about? Is it a mic?

Other comments say "use volume -1" or "use only polish" (well, this one I get it's just the effect chosen)

Groups, auditions, etc. ... Some people claim they are in this or that group, there are group auditions ...  What's all that about groups? Let's say you audition and become a member ... Then what do they do?

Guest 01_SassyMelissa