Record Keyboard and Sing Simultaneously

AprilPM

Hi. I am new to Smule, and was wondering if it possible to record a keyboard and sing at the same time? Is there a way to input an instrument directly into the app, or is the only way to record instrument sound through the same mic you sing into? I'd like to record 2 inputs into the freestyle module, an instrument and microphone.

Thanks in advance, I searched but couldn't find anything definitive.

April

opentype

There is probably no easy/cheap solution. You would need a mixer and an audio interface.Ā 

Alternatively, maybe you can record in some other way (e.g. on a PC) and then upload the MP3 to the songbook from the Smule website? Would that help? Iā€™ve done that myself one time when I wanted to have an acoustic version basically just for my own use.Ā Ā 

AprilPM

Hi Open Type,

Thanks for your reply. I actually have a Scarlett 2i2 audio interface and a Neumann TLM103 condenser mic. The keyboard I have is a Yamaha MOXF 8. Would those items allĀ work?Ā 

What kind of mixer would I need? And what would setting it all up entail? My mind only goes so far when it comes to getting creative with audio equipment, and then it fries out. LOL

Thank you in advance!

AprilĀ 

opentype

I think the Scarlett could mix at least a mono signal from the keyboard and a microphone. What device are you running Smule on? iPhone? iPad? Android device?

opentype

Here is an example using the interface with two different microphones and a phone.Ā 

One thing I probably wouldnā€™t like about this solution is the stereo panorama. You will only have two mono channels and no control over the panning and no stereo sound, e.g. for the keyboard. But at least you could use the existing interface.Ā